I am not afraid

” Are you afraid of death?” someone asked.

Well, I guess it’s questions like these that get us thinking.

It’s been seventeen years on earth for me and I think I’ve imagined the day I die about seventeen thousand times. I’ve imagined time and again, someone putting a gun to my head and saying, ” Will you die for the man standing there, the one you don’t know?” and somehow, I always say, Yes.

I’ve always believed that I would never be able to live with the guilt of another person’s life in my hands.

So back to that question,

No, I am not afraid of death.I used to be but not anymore. I guess the assurance of life after death is a big factor for me. I know there are many who would say otherwise. But it’s what I believe in the heart of my hearts that matters, right?

But whether I’m afraid to die or not, I don’t want to die. I want to live. laugh and cry. I want to fall in love and never fall out. I want to dream and catch those dreams. I want to have children someday and maybe grow so old, I would see tiny great grandchildren. I want to go into a book store and watch someone buy a book I’ve written. I want to make friends that are truly forever. I want to see the world. I want to walk in poetry. I want to know life with all its curves and edges.

14_365_temperanza_by_alexblacko-d867y06

photo courtesy: http://www.deviantart.com/art/14-365-Temperanza-494177766

3 thoughts on “I am not afraid

      1. Yes, that’s absolutely how it is. We each follow our own paths. I grew up in a Christian home and had to pass Bible as a subject before I could graduate high school. I was just lucky to have been guided to more insightful teachings about God from the Vedas. Take care and many blessings your way 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

