On a poetic journey

As I was cleaning out my room today, I found some of my old stuff. It occurred to me how sentimental I am as I found old pictures, letters, diaries, random bills, messy notes and all my old poems. I went on a nostalgic path of reminiscence as I recalled moments that were lodged in the archives of my heart. Most importantly, I looked back on my journey as a poet and a writer. It all went back to when I scribbled on coloured pieces of paper, all those clichéd love stories and poems that could hardly be called poetry at all. And as I thought of my poetic journey, I smiled for I know it is not over. My heart is still stirred by the path I am on.

I have a poetry blog now, called A Poetic Journey and should you go through it, you would see some of the poems I write today as a seventeen year old poet passionate about the world and life in its essence. In this blog post, I would like to share to you a little bit of where it all started and how this journey has unfolded so far.

I found a piece of paper today on which I wrote a little poem on friendship. Perhaps, I wrote it when I was six or seven. I cannot remember exactly but it’s the definitely the earliest surviving work I have.

On it, I wrote

Friendship

is a precious pearl

…and when friends part

…through the tear

drops that trickle down

The glow of love 

will forever shine.

11749416_1449325498710492_760276616_n

I can’t recall who I wrote it for or how I suddenly decided to write a poem but I do know, I’m glad it stuck, for poetry has become my sanctuary from the world, a place where I can be completely honest and myself without inhibitions, vulnerable to the being of my soul. The first poem that I showed my parents was called ‘Jadis’ inspired by the Jadis, the white witch in the Chronicles of Narnia, a series that I read at age ten.

11749500_1449325522043823_318364753_n11756474_1449325518710490_107859535_n

As I went through more and more of my old writings, I also found diary entries, I am too embarrassed to talk of and stories of high schools I dreamt of being at. I wrote poems on flowers, books, people and the beat of my drumming heart. Fast forward into newspaper clippings of my first published poems and I can remember the joy I felt as a fifteen year old girl who had longed to be recognised. It was there that I began to actually write poetry seriously and it was then that I began taste the sweetness of appreciated work. I began to want to refine my craft even more and today, I testify that I have been able to do that even though I am far from finished. My journey with poetry has been ten years now, but I still feel this is just the beginning. A hundred poems old and I know that I have more on my way and know that this journey will never stop stirring my heart. My only desire is that this craft might also stir your heart.

ad

11737004_1449325535377155_752422940_n

11749623_1448184018824640_1862035681_n

The lines above are from one of my latest poems. To read the complete poem, Click on this link –

Station

To read my poetry blog, click on this link-

A Poetic Journey

4 thoughts on “On a poetic journey

Leave a Reply

