Book Review: Midnight’s Children

Salman Rushdie is perhaps one of India’s most celebrated and also controversial novelists as he has succeeded to write unconventional, beautiful and touching stories that have also an element of offense to some. I read a bit of his writings before and I really liked them which is why I was very excited to receive his highly acclaimed book, Midnight’s Children. The first page of the novel says the book was judged to be the Best of the Booker or simply the best novel to have won the Booker Prize. This gave me very high expectations of the book which were sadly unmet. Somehow, I found it to be a good read but not really the best I’ve read. In fact, it took me more than three months to read. I’m a habitual reader and when I am engrossed in a book, I usually can’t put it down till I’ve found out the ending of the story. I usually never take more than a few days. With this one, it was particularly easy for me to put it off for later while reading and completing other books in between. I have read so much praise for it but somehow, all of that didn’t really ring a bell. I have been wondering if it’s just something about my personal taste.

Salman Rushdie is definitely a great writer, one of the best, but somehow, I liked some of his other writings more. Maybe it is because I had too high of an expectation out of Midnight’s Children. But it’s a good book nonetheless. It’s main protagonist is Saleem Sinai who was born at the precise moment of independence thus giving him telepathic powers and connecting him to many others like him. The book also gives you deep insight into India’s modern history. The historical aspect of the book is the one I love the most. I won’t say much about it because giving away too much might spoil your reading pleasures. It’s worth the buy if you’re an avid reader who knows your stuff. This isn’t for anyone who’s only used to light reading.

Paperback Price Rs. 499

Publisher: Vintage (18 May 1995)

Leave a Reply

