Travel Throwback #3 Pondicherry

If you’ve been following my blog for a while now, you’ll know that I started this series of travel throwbacks a while ago. So far, I’ve done short throwbacks on Varanasi and Istanbul, which were both wonderful places that I enjoyed travelling to. But perhaps more than any other throwback, Pondicherry is the “realest” for me. Perhaps, I’d even go so far as to say it’s the OG of throwbacks for me. 😀

The reason this is the OG throwback is because it was the first real vacation I went on. I had travelled as a child with my parents to different places to visit relatives or do something or the other. But, Pondicherry was different because it was our first family vacation. I must have been around ten at the time and it was the first time I saw the sea, the first time I got to collect shells off a beach and the first time I got to just do fun stuff every single day of the entire trip. We went boat riding, beach hopping, swimming, touring, shopping, eating and everything ten year old me wanted to do.

Owing to all the fond memories attached to this beautiful little town, I always get a kick of innocent joy and excitement every time I hear the word, “Pondi” To my knowledge, it’s actually become Puducherry now but Pondi has a nicer ring to it and Pondi is how I remember it. If you ever want to go for a short vacay at a small town with a character of its own, Pondi’s the word. 😉 

P.S. Sadly, I don’t have any pictures of that time on my computer now. The picture that is featured is taken randomly off the net. Forgive me for this heinous crime of photo stealing 😉 Credits goes to the photographer and whoever owns the picture. Also, I chose this picture because it is the closest in resemblence to the Pondi I remember. Ofcourse, it’s only one part of the town.

Leave a Reply

